Durham Region Page


The Regional Municipality of Durham is the easternmost urban area in the Golden Horseshoe, running along the northern shore of Lake Ontario.There are five municipalities along the lakeshore:from east to west they are Claringtion, Oshawa, Whitby, Ajax, and Pickering.Until December 31, 2005, each city had its own transit system except Ajax and Pickering, where the two separate transit agencies had been combined in 2001.Clarington, Oshawa and Whitby all accepted each otherís fare media, allowing seamless transfers with GO Transit and with each other.On January 1st, 2006, the four transit systems were amalgamated into a single agency called Durham Region Transit.Click below to see photos of buses in Durham Region.


Durham Region Transit (68 photos)